The National Technical University (NTUA) is the oldest and most
prestigious educational institution of Greece in the field of
technology, and has contributed unceasingly to the country’s scientific,
technical and economic development since its foundation in 1836. It is
closely linked with Greece’s struggle for independence, democracy and
social progress. In Greek, NTUA is called the “Ethnicon Metsovion
Polytechnion” which stands for National Metsovion Polytechnic. It was
named “Metsovion” to honor the donors and benefactors Nikolaos
Stournaris, Eleni Tositsa, Michail Tositsas and Georgios Averof, all
from Metsovo, a small town in the region of Epirus, who made substantial
donations in the last half of the 19th century.
NTUA is divided into nine academic Schools, eight being for the
engineering sciences, including architecture, and one for the general